Second day in the breathtaking Kyoto

Let the story of my second day in Kyoto start (since I finally got the photos of that day to my flickr).

The Visiting order for this day was the following:

1st. Ginkakuji (The Silver temple)
2nd. Heian Shrine (Huge Torii)
3rd. Nijojo Castle
4th. Tenryuji Temple
5th. Bamboo forest
6th. Togetsukyo (famous bridge)
7th. Kyoto Station area

You might think that we did not visit as many places as the first day but that is because the distances with the local buss took hours sadly. For me the main thing this day was that Bamboo forest ! Since few years ago I had a photo of a bamboo forest as my wallpaper and when I visited there I knew that the photo was taken there. I could not get any good photos taken there since I was kinda in a Shock of the beauty of the Bamboo.

I’m now uploading photos of my sony to flickr which has photos of pretty much all things we ate and more mix photos ! I hope you all like em !

So let’s start with the pictures of the beautiful Ginkaku-ji (Silver temple), the famous counterpart of the Kinkaku-ji (golden temple). The Actual Ginkaku-ji is not silver so don’t be shocked when you go there, it is actually just normal wood. The plan was in place to make it in silver like the Ginkaku was made in Gold but Shogun who was ruling that time died and the faction that was going to build it ran out of money but they still kept the name.

銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple
My girlfriend taking photos of the beautiful temple.
銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple
As you can see, it is exactly the same as the Golden temple except this is not made of Gold.
Got a love these money things in Kyoto, they are pretty much everywhere and full of coins.(I tried and missed)
銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple
銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple
Students posing for photos at the Temple
銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple
The beautiful Autumn colors continued in this day as well.
銀閣寺 Ginkakuji temple

I wanted to Visit the “famous” Heian shrine because of the huge Torii they had, I’m not sure but I think it is one of the biggest in the world.
平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine
Isn’t it big !!
The main shrine was nice as well !
平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine
Students taking photos of the shrine as well!
平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine平安神宮 Heianjingu shrine

Close to this Shrine was the famous Nijojo Castle (not actually a castle the real castle burned down a long time ago). It is a interesting place to visit but to be honest I was not that impressed with it. I was more impressed of the famous Pride fighter I saw there called Yoshida Hidehiko (wikipedia link), nice guy had a smoke with him.
二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle二条城 Nijojo castle

Autumn colors in Nijojo were amazing as well !
Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉Autumn leaf colors in Japan 紅葉二条城 Nijojo castle

After Nijojo we took a long buss trip to the famous Tenryu-ji Temple. It’s mostly famous of its beautiful garden and a huge dragon painting like you saw the from the first day. One bad thing about this place was that it was expensive and you can not take photos of the dragon, we went in there to see it anyway and it was beautiful ! .. bought a small post card hah.
天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉
This is another dragon that they had there.
天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉
天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉

Now we get to my favorite part !! BAMBOOOO !! (I have a feeling that I was a Japanese Samurai panda in my last life ?)
Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道
Autumn colors and beautiful bamboo !
Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道Bamboo forrest! 竹林の道
We continued walking through the Bamboo forest and found our self in a park filled with autumn colors.
保津川 hozugawa river保津川 hozugawa river
After being lost for a while, my girlfriend realized that we were very close to a famous bridge that she wanted to see so we continued forward in the park until we found a river and walked to direction of the bridge.
保津川 hozugawa river保津川 hozugawa river保津川 hozugawa river
This is the bridge my girl wanted to see called Togetsukyo渡月橋 Togetsukyo bridge!
渡月橋 Togetsukyo bridge

After that we had dinner and walked around a bit and seeing the stores.
嵐山 Arashiyama shopping street
Geisha ?
保津川 hozugawa river Geisha
Got few nice evening photos as well !
嵐山 Arashiyama shopping street
天竜寺 Tenryuji temple 紅葉嵐山 Arashiyama shopping street

And we returned our Ryokan and shopped a bit around Kyoto station. I had to buy another memory card since my cards started to be a bit full at this point.

I will start uploading the photos from day three soonish but since I use a crappy Docomo internet it should take couple of days to upload them. but let’s hope it is fast.
I hope you all enjoyed my photos and visit my flickr to see much more beautiful photos from Kyoto and Tokyo.

4 thoughts on “Second day in the breathtaking Kyoto

  1. I’m very happy to hear that you like the photos ! of course not geisha do what they do for living so only in the late hours of the evening.

  2. omygod..im speechless..those pictures are amazing!! and..the geisha do they always dress like that??

Leave a Reply

