Shrines,Cat and Mountain

1st day of the new year. Bit tired after the new years party that I thought would have ended after the year changed but it continued three days after which was great !
It is a tradition to go to visit your shrines in the first few days as well and check your fortune for the new year so we visited some.

In the morning when we woke up I was playing with the cute cat that lived there called Charo whose photos you have seen before in my site !
朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo
In this photo he is eating my girlfriends hand !
朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo
I saw that there was a good weather outside so I quickly went out with my camera to take photos of one of the mountains that surrounds the Aomori area.
This mountain is called Iwate-san. I love mountains since in Finland we don’t have any so it is always a big thing for me to see one.
岩手山 Mount Iwate岩手山 Mount Iwate岩手山 Mount Iwate岩手山 Mount Iwate岩手山 Mount Iwate

After my time with Charo ended and I took enough photos of the mountain, we left to see some of the beautiful shrines of the area near by. One of the shrines we visited had a great looking dragon ice statue and since I love dragons I was amazed of it!
2012 is the year of the Dragon if you haven’t yet heard and also my sign is dragon so this will be my year !
Ice dragon statue in AomoriIce dragon statue in AomoriIce dragon statue in AomoriIce dragon statue in Aomori

Now all the fortune things that were a bunny/rabbit last year 2011 has changed in to dragons which is wicked heh 😀
Year of the dragon 2012! my year

Shrines in AomoriShrines in AomoriShrines in Aomori

The first days of the year you go to your shrine and burn your last years fortunes and talismans and get a new one for the new year.
Shrines in AomoriShrines in Aomori

if you like cute cat paws like this … Like my facebook page Photographer Ari Helminen
朝猫 ちゃろ Morning with Charo

5 thoughts on “Shrines,Cat and Mountain

  1. Unfortaunatly my city doesn’t really have places that would show them off, plus my city has had a bit warm winter unfortunately and its only rained so any ice sculpture outside would have melted soon 😄

  2. uuhh I will check ’em out ! I always wanted to start climbing mountains and someday climb Everest as well!
    was surprised how there was that ice sculpture considering how small shrine it was in the middle of nothing.
    You never seen an ice sculpture in person ? bit shocking 😀 would think that there are those in the states at winter 😀

  3. I have some photos of the mountains that I live near over at my blog in Shenandoah National Park posts.
    I think these mountains are larger though, and that dragon ice sculpture is awesome. I never really have seen an ice sculpture in person.

Leave a Reply

